Alpha & Omega - Life Swallower

Album cover
Hardcore, Metal
6131 Records
Alpha & Omega
Life Swallower
Alpha & Omega - Life Swallower Review rating:
4
User rating:
Average: 3 (3 votes)

After metal seemed to die and resurrect into cheesy, overproduced metalcore acts over and over again, I was fully convinced solid, chugging riffs had died. That mighty guitar tone that crunched through the mix, but not obtrusively and really gave life to the rhythms faded. Its replacement was scooped mids and drop D drivel. With this in mind, I am pleased to introduce Alpha & Omega’s debut full-length, Life Swallower.

It’s easy to place heavy weight on bands like Cro-Mags, H20 Blacklisted in their influences slot and leave it there, but there’s an undeniable ‘80s metal influence present throughout as well. By that I’m referencing albums like Kill ‘em All or The Legacy. Alpha & Omega are nothing less than a hardcore band, but when you hit the chugging rhythms and guitar solos on songs like “Fueled By Sin” and “Losing Grip,” its homage to the yesteryears of metal are impeccable.

What adds to the vintage tone even more is the dry drum sounds presented. Many of the more modern bands place heavy production on their toms and bass drum along with quite the digital sounding snare, but their drummer leaves the atmosphere tastefully unproduced. The fills have a warm, natural tone and when Colin blasts through his double bass filled sections, they pound through with real life in them. Even the cymbal crashes have a very nice crisp sound not seen often enough.

With all the good can only come so much bad, which mainly lies on vocalist Luis Hernandez. Not because of his abilities as their vocalist, but on his lyrical content. He only adds to the continual circlejerk of the same content repeated again and again the hardcore scene. Not that it isn’t presented well or isnt’ worth paying attention to, it’s that it merely is played out and could use some fresh life.

For being involved in the ever-so-oversaturated American metal scene, Alpha & Omega somehow stick out-and in a good way. There’s a breath of authenticity hardcore could use. Perhaps not perfect, it’s an exciting release from a young band worth all the attention they might get with a great label like 6131 backing them.

1. Fueled By Sin
2. Lead Me Home
3. Worthless Life
4. Searching
5. Losing Grip
6. No One To Blame
7. Seven
8. Life Swallower
9. Faded Path
10. Stand Alone
11. Cold Reality
... read more

Did You Know?

Batman
Batman says... "Manchester Orchestra member Christopher Freeman is an avid fan of Gossip Girls."

Featured Album

Hawthorne Heights-Hate
Hate
Hawthorne Heights

Recent Interviews

ARIA
ARIA
Tue, September 06, 2011
A Common Year
A Common Year
Thu, September 01, 2011
Mayday Parade
Mayday Parade
Mon, August 22, 2011
Blessthefall
Blessthefall
Tue, August 09, 2011
Stray From the Path
Stray From the Path
Thu, August 04, 2011
The Summer Set
The Summer Set
Wed, July 27, 2011
Psychic Babble
Psychic Babble
Tue, June 28, 2011
Touche Amore
Touche Amore
Fri, June 24, 2011
August Burns Red
August Burns Red
Tue, June 21, 2011
Nocturnal Me
Nocturnal Me
Mon, June 13, 2011
Living With Lions
Living With Lions
Mon, June 13, 2011
Polar Bear Club
Polar Bear Club
Sun, June 12, 2011
The Swellers
The Swellers
Mon, May 23, 2011
Balance And Composure
Balance And Com ...
Sun, May 22, 2011
Protest The Hero
Protest The Hero
Fri, April 29, 2011
Dredg
Dredg
Wed, April 27, 2011
Otep
Otep
Sat, April 23, 2011
Fireworks
Fireworks
Tue, April 12, 2011
Dance Gavin Dance
Dance Gavin Dance
Sun, April 03, 2011
He Is We
He Is We
Sat, March 05, 2011

Powered by Drupal. Eco-friendly hosting provided by Site5 LLC.
All content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License .